Security - Threat Assessment

 

If you are aware of an emergency, or immediate safety concerns, call 911 and report the danger to law enforcement. If you are concerned about threatening behavior or a disturbing situation, that is NOT an emergency event, contact one of the team members listed below or submit the information on this online form. You may also submit your information via email to threat@southside.edu.

 

Early Intervention

Preventing violence and supporting the safety and well-being of the college community are responsibilities of all members of the SVCC community. Campus safety is enhanced through community members identifying behaviors of concern and reporting the concerns in a caring and timely manner. Early identification of such concerns allows SVCC to intervene more effectively to address behaviors that are threatening or significantly disruptive to the learning, living and working environment of SVCC.

The Threat Assessment Team

Virginia law requires the institution to have a threat assessment team to identify, assess and intervene with individuals whose behavior poses a threat to the safety of the campus community.

The SVCC Threat Assessment Team is staffed by representatives from several college departments. The mission of the Threat Assessment Team is to determine if an individual poses a threat to self, others, or the SVCC community and to intervene to avert the threat and maintain the safety of the situation. The team responds to behaviors exhibited by students, employees, visitors, and non-affiliated persons in an attempt to prevent violence so that SVCC remains a safe and secure working and learning environment.

Identifying Concerning Behavior

There are many behaviors that may cause concern for the safety and well-being of an individual, or the campus as a whole. The following is not an exhaustive list but provides examples of concerning behaviors or situations:

  • Unusual or abrupt changes in behaviors or patterns;

  • Extreme reaction to a loss or traumatic event;

  • Preoccupation with weapons, violent events or persons who have engaged in violent acts;

  • Uncharacteristically poor performance;

  • References to harming others or planning a violent or destructive event;

  • Evidence of depression, hopelessness, or suicidal thoughts/plans;

  • Inappropriate responses such as prolonged irritability, angry outbursts, or intense reactions;

  • Strained interpersonal relations, isolating behaviors, or low self esteem;

  • Significant change in life circumstances such as loss of job or relationship;

Again, these are just examples of behaviors that may cause concern. If you observe or become aware of situations that cause concern for safety, consult with colleagues, supervisors or college officials and report your concerns.

When To Report: "It may be nothing, but…"

If you have concerns about a person or situation, even if you think it may be nothing, you are encouraged to share the information. The information you provide, no matter how trivial it may seem by itself, may be critical to understanding a broader range of problematic or threatening behavior.

Reporting Concerns

Emergency Situations:  If you are aware of an emergency, or immediate safety concerns, call 911 and report the danger to law enforcement.

Non-Emergencies:  If you are concerned about threatening behavior or a disturbing situation, that is NOT an emergency event, contact one of the team members listed below or submit the information on this online form (This form goes only to members of the team). Or you may email the team at threat@southside.edu.

Information Needed

When providing information, please include the name of the person you are concerned about, the behaviors you observed, and your name. While the Threat Assessment Team does accept anonymous reports, if you don't identify yourself, the team has fewer options for addressing the situation you are concerned about.

What Happens Next

Your identity and the information you share will be treated privately with your safety in mind. The information will be used to address the situation in a respectful and helpful manner. The college's Threat Assessment Team will gather more information about the situation and implement a plan to enhance the safety of the campus community.

The Threat Assessment Team:

Bernadette Battle bernadette.battle@southside.edu

Eddie Bennett eddie.bennett@southside.edu

Larry Dunson:  larry.dunson@southside.edu

Michelle Edmonds:  michelle.edmonds@southside.edu

Shannon Feinman shannon.feinman@southside.edu

Teresa George teresa.george@southside.edu

Bethany Harris bethany.harris@southside.edu

Peter Hunt peter.hunt@southside.edu

Angela Hurtt-Williams angela.hurtt-williams@southside.edu

Emily Noblin emily.noblin@southside.edu

Dorothea Sizemore 736-2051 dorothea.sizemore@southside.edu

James Taylor james.taylor@southside.edu

Chad Wollenberg chad.wollenberg@southside.edu

Roger Wray roger.wray@southside.edu