Journeymen, Master Plumbers, Electricians, HVAC mechanics, and Gas Fitters are now required by the Virginia Board of Contractors to take a pre-determined number of continuing education hours specific to their trade as part of the licensing process. Anyone obtaining or renewing a license must take continuing education in his/her respective profession. Plumbers, HVAC technicians and Electricians must take three hours of continuing education in their field. Gas fitters must take one hour. (This one hour class for Gas Fitters is intended for Journeyman and Master Gas Fitters, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Fitters, and Natural Gas Fitters.) Each course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impacts on the job, general use and special equipment included in the respective codes.
These classes are recognized by the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and the Virginia Board of Contractors and meet the new continuing education requirement. Certificates of Continuing Education Units (CEUs) are recognized by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and will be issued to all licensed Virginia electrical tradesmen cardholders upon successful completion of the class.
The cost of the three-hour classes (Electric, HVAC and Plumbing) is $125 and the cost of the one-hour class (Gas Fitter including) is $65. A workbook highlighting the changes is included in the cost of the class and will be distributed when participants arrive for class.
Basic Contractor Business Licensing Course
This eight-hour course provides an overview of the statutes and regulations that govern contractor licensing in Virginia. This course is approved by the Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and board of Contractors.
Topics include: Starting a business in Virginia, Laws and Regulations, Contractor Limits and Classifications, Virginia State Statutes Relating to Contractors, Statement of Consumer Protections, The Licensing Process, Obtaining the Contract, Customer Service and new Home Warranties, Virginia Uniform Statewide building Code (USbC), Underground Utilities, Insurance, Virginia Taxes, Labor Law, Erosion and Sediment Control, Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH), and Liens.
The cost of the eight-hour class is $199.
Time: 8:30AM – 5:00PM
Clarksville Enrichment Complex - 1567 Noblin Farm Road, Clarksville VA
Pre-registration for non-credit classes is required. Register online at http://southside.augusoft.net